Beckenham Town 6-2 Milton Athletic

Sunday 08th January 2006
Despite going a goal down in the first minute Beckenham Town cruised into the semi-final of The Kent Senior Trophy with a comfortable 6-2 victory over Milton Athletic, writes Ian Muir.
Beckenham failed to pick up from a short corner and a perfectly placed cross found Smith at the far post who headed down to put the visitors into an early lead.

For the next 40 minutes Milton hardly got a touch of the ball as Beckenham kept possession and passed the ball around with consummate ease.

During that period the impressive Stewart managed to score a hatrick, his best effort being a thirty-yard drive in the 35 minute.

Just before the break Town’s central pairing of Hudson and Ahwan were caught out as Smith poked in his second, this made for an interesting second period.
Within a minute of the restart Adeniyi ghosted through the visitors defence to slide home Town’s fourth, his effort killed off any hope of a Milton revival.

Somehow Beckenham failed in the next thirty-minute period to notch a conclusive fifth goal. Firstly a long range Martin shot was well saved by the keeper then a powerful header by Daniels went just over the bar. From the very next attack, Cheeseman latched onto a Stewart cross and was equally unfortunate to see his shot rebound off the post to safety.
The Kent league's leading scorer Paul Vines took his tally for the season to 19 after 75 minutes as he turned his marker inside the penalty area to place his shot beyond the diving keeper.

Adeniyi once again went on a tremendous run and beat five defenders and was just about to slot home when he was upended, he picked himself up and scored from the resulting penalty.  
In the end it was a surprisingly easy and emphatic victory over a well-organised side that at times found the pace of the home side too much for them.

Beckenham now face Tunbridge Wells at home in the semi-final. Next week Town are away to VCD Athletic in the League.
Beckenham Town: Rob Tolfrey, Nicolas Plumain, Jake Daniels, Errison Ahwan, Asher Hudson, Peter Adeniyi, Cedric Meeko, Ohran Stewart, Ryan Martin, Daniel Morris, Jamie Cheeseman.
Subs. Dean Lodge, Gavin Rose, Paul Vines.