Soccer Shorts: Croydon sign current Montserrat goalkeeper Nic Taylor while Punjab United stage inaugural Non-League Diversity Football Event

Thursday 17th June 2021

Here are some recent summer transfer news

CANTERBURY CITY have announced that Danny Keyte, Rob Lawrence, Teddy Nelson, Niall Salisbury, Enoch Soganile, Lewis Stevens-Toomey, Adam Turton will be in their squad for next season’s Southern Counties East Football League Premier Division campaign.

CROYDON manager Liam Giles has signed current Montserrat international goalkeeper Nic Taylor, who played for Erith Town last season.

The 29-year-old goalkeeper kept a clean sheet for Montserrat in their 4-0 win over British World Cup Qualifier against US Virgin Islands on 2 June.

Giles is delighted to bring the former Fisher and AFC Croydon Athletic stopper to the Southern Counties East Football League First Division club.

“I’m very happy to welcome Nic Taylor to Croydon, a top keeper with unreal pedigree and experience signing for his local club,” said Giles.

DARTFORD manager Steve King has signed former Sheppey United winger Danny Leonard.

“I would like to thank everyone involved with Sheppey United Football Club for my time there,” said Leonard, who has left the Southern Counties East Football League Premier Division side to climb up three levels to challenge himself in the Vanarama National League South.

“From the chairman (Matthew Smith) and the management team to the players and fans.  The support has been incredible. An opportunity to further my career and challenge myself has arisen. Thanks for all the memories.”

The Darts have also signed striker Ade Azeez, 27, whom was playing for National League side Dover Athletic last season and another striker, Jake Robinson, 34, has signed for the club from Billericay Town, where he notched 123 goals in 161 appearances for the Essex outfit.

Midfielder Kieran Murtagh, 32, has left National League side Boreham Wood to play for the Darts next season.

EBBSFLEET UNITED manager Dennis Kutrieb has signed former Maidstone United midfielder Kreshnic Krasniqi, 26.

FOLKESTONE INVICTA manager Neil Cugley has retained the services of defender Matt Newman, who has made 286 appearances, scoring 10 goals in two spells for the Isthmian League Premier Division club.

Meanwhile, the Folkestone Invicta Supporters’ Club will be staging its Annual General Meeting at Cheriton Road on Thursday 24 June (19:30).

HOLLANDS & BLAIR manager Simon Halsey continues the search for a goalkeeper coach for the Gillingham-based Southern Counties East Football League Premier Division club.

LARKFIELD & New Hythe Wanderers manager Kris Browning has signed former Hollands & Blair left-back Lewis Mingle; former Snodland Town centre-half Liam Dawson and former Kent Football United midfielder Jason Goodchild ahead of their maiden campaign in the Southern Counties East Football League First Division.

LYDD TOWN have appointed Did Williams as their new reserve team manager, following spells managing the first teams at Kent County League sides Hawkinge Town and New Romney.

Williams will be assisted by Luke Hall, who alongside Williams guided Folkestone Town to Ashford District Premier Divisional Cup glory last term.

"Did and Luke are keen to carry on their hard work by bringing with them all of their trusted squad," said a Lydd Town statement.

"They are both keen to push and promote players to the first-team and will work closely with first-team manager Mickey Doyle.

"The club are excited to welcome Did and Luke on board as we contine to build this great project."

MAIDSTONE UNITED manager Hakan Hayrettin has signed former Dorking Wanderers midfielder Jake Gallagher, 28, and former Bradford Park Avenue midfielder Regan Booty, 23.

PUNJAB UNITED are staging the inaugural Non-League Diversity Football Event for non-league clubs playing in the pyramid system that are leading the way for Black, Asian and other minority ethnic groups.  The event, which involves Leicester Nirvana, Punjab United, Sporting Bengal United and Sporting Khalsa takes place on Saturday 3 July 2021 at the Elite Venue ground in Gravesend.

SITTINGBOURNE manager Darren Blackburn has retained the services of attacker Kane Rowland.

“Despite the understandable interest, very happy to reach an agreement with Kane Rowland for the 2021-22 season.  He’s a fantastic lad, great attitude and a role model for young players as well,” said Blackburn.

TONBRIDGE ANGELS have lost the services of defender James Folkes, who has signed for Isthmian League Northern Division side Barking, who have recently signed former Glebe striker Charlie MacDonald, 40.

VCD ATHLETIC manager Nick Davis has retained the services of Chris Edwards, Malachi Hudson, Charles Etummu, Geoff Okonkwo, Emiliano Hysi, Marcus Elliott, Ayman El-Mogharbel, Anthony Adesite ahead of next season’s Isthmian League South East Division campaign.

The Crayford based outfit have handed the captain's armband to Lea Dawson with goalkeeper Sam Mott being vice-captain.

WELLING TOWN are selling season tickets at £50 (adults) for their maiden season sharing at Kent Football United’s ground at Lowfield Street in Dartford next season.

WELLING UNITED are inviting their supporters to attend a meet the manager night on Saturday evening, where they can ask manager Steve Lovell and Tristan Lewis and some players questions about their plans for the forthcoming National League South campaign.

“With the exciting plans they are putting together, book now to avoid disappointment. Doors open at 5pm, questions start at 6pm,” said the Park View Road outfit.

The club have also set a capacity limit of 850 for their home pre-season friendlies.

Kent County League Constitution 2021-22

Premier Division (16):

Borden Village, Bromleians, Crockenhill, Farnborough Old Boys Guild, Fleetdown United, Hawkinge Town, HSFP Ten-Em-Bee, Ide Hill, K Sports Res, Kings Hill, New Romney, Otford United, Peckham Town, Red Velvet, Stansfeld, Tudor Sports

Division One Central & East (14):
Ashford, Cinque Ports, Cuxton 1991, Guru Nanak, Hollands & Blair Res, Lordswood Res, Minster, Rochester City, Rusthall Res, Snodland Town Res, Sturry, Tenterden Town, Thanet United, Whitstable Town Res

Division One West (14):
AFC Mottingham, Belvedere, Bexley, Chipstead, Club Langley, Crayford Arrows, Danson Sports, Halls Athletic, Metrogas, South East Athletic, Sporting Club Thamesmead Res, Sutton Athletic Res, Tudor Sports Res, Welling Park

Division Two Central & East (13):
Aylesford, Bearsted Res, Cuxton 1991 Res, Deal Town Rangers, Greenways Aces, Hildenborough Athletic, Lydd Town Res, Minster Res, Punjab United Res, Rochester City Res, Staplehurst Monarchs United Res, West Farleigh, Woodnesborough

Division Two West (13):
Bridon Ropes Res, Bromleians Res, Dulwich Village, Halstead, Equinoccial, Erith & Belvedere Res, Farnborough Old Boys Guild Res, Fleetdown United Res, Long Lane, Metrogas Res, Orpington, Parkwood Ramgers, Stansfeld Res

Division Three Central & East (13):
AFC Rangers, Canterbury City University, Gillingham Town, Ide Hill Res, Larkfield & New Hythe Res, Lenham Wanderers, Lokomotiv Canterbury, New Romney Res, Paddock Wood, Pilgrims, Tankerton, Tenterden Town Res, West Kingsdown

Division Three West (13):
AFC Lewisham, Balma, Bexley Res, Bayer Neverlusen, Danson Sports Res, Dartford Celtic, Drummond Athletic, Falconwood, FC Greenwich, Long Lane Res, Otford United Res, South East Athletic Res, Welling Town Res