Holmesdale's groundsman scoops top FA award

Sunday 11th June 2006

Over 300 people attended the British Energy Kent County League’s annual presentation dinner, which was held at the Ramada Hotel & Resort in Hollingbourne last weekend, writes Stephen McCartney.

Barry Bright, the chairman and managing director of the Kent County Football Association, presented Folkestone’s Eddie Burville, the League’s Eastern Section Registration Secretary, with an FA Long & Meritorious award for 50 years service to the sport.

Clubs who achieved success out on the field, winning titles, cups or finishing runners-up, received their awards and the League paid tribute to the people behind the scenes.

Holmesdale Football Club’s Mark Hayes was presented FA Groundsman of the year for step seven of the National League System.

“This was only the second time it has been won by a Kent County League club,” revealed League secretary Geoff Jenkins.

FA Workforce awards were presented to Denise Tolfrey (Holmesdale), Alan Turner (Phoenix Sports), Ray Sampson-Chambers (Belvedere) and Bearsted’s Keith Willson.

Joe Collymore from Lewisham Borough and Beasted’s Keith Willson both scooped Long Service awards by the League for twenty-year’s dedication.

Sid Medley, the ground co-ordinator of Faversham Town, who were promoted to the Kent League at the first attempt, received the Personality of the Year accolade.

League chairman Mr Cyril Windiate, presented a Special League Award to the Lilywhites following their achievement on being promoted.

Ian Regan from Ashford won the Referee of the Year award and Bexleyheath’s Tim Burman was presented with the most Promising Referee of the Year shield.